top of page

“This Is My Story”

“Here's my ghetto story (story) Been in hell through the fire Now we, gonna take it higher Here's my survival story (story) So many reasons to sing this Now we got the keys to the kingdom”

-Baby Cham & Alicia Keys

Far away on a hill there once lived a little girl. A little girl who constantly wondered why. Why was the world so rough and rigid? Why was it that some persons were living better than others? Why was it that poverty was the reality? This little girl dreamed, and still dreams of better. Better for herself, better for her family, better for her community, better for her country.

People the struggle is real, where ever we look, whatever we do, we are faced with struggle.

Adversities are everywhere!

And we consistently wonder why.

Well let me answer that question.

Firstly, we need to take this preconceived notion out of our minds that struggle is bad, that struggle is negative. If before something actually happens we already have crafted a belief of it, then it will only be what we have said it would be.

So strike out the negativity that you view struggle with.

This may be hard because of all its criteria.

But I have learnt if it’s never bad sometimes, we won’t know how to crave for better. You have to have it hard to want to feel ease.

“Change your perspective and your perspective will change your life” -S.N. Mills

You are in control.

What we need to understand is that no one needs to know.

Your life should not reflect your struggle.

Your self should not reflect your struggle.

If you keep diving in your struggle then eventually you will drown in it.

You have it hard and so what, what now.

The person beside you has it hard as well.

So does the person in front of you.

If all you see in your self is this struggle then you will be unable to see the positive.

“Remember those days when I went to bed hungry

All I ever ate was white rice and honey

Big dreams in my head empty my tummy

Might crack a smile but ain't nothin' funny”

-Baby Cham & Alicia Keys

The positivity of struggle;

I have always said I like a person that’s been through a little struggle, that person is somehow way different than a person that has had it easy their entire life. They are somewhat more understanding, realistic and compassionate.

Struggle, believe it or not builds your character if you deal with it the right way.

This may be hard, but trust me when I say it’s possible. Having survived with having no electricity, improper diets, worrying about where will the funds come from for every level of my education as well as being through countless other situations, I have ensured to keep a reminder of the following close to my heart:

1) Never allow myself to feel less than another person, no matter the case, I am always just as much as they are and always capable of doing anything another person is capable of, despite my challenges.

2) Never carry myself as if life is hard, because no matter how hard life is your exterior does not have to show it. I have learnt that what you display on the outside has a lot to do with how you me feel on the inside.

3) Never let an opportunity pass. This may be your ticket out, your ticket to enhance better, your ticket strive.

4) Never think you are alone in your struggle, help comes in several forms. Be willing to accept it and appreciate the good people.

5) Never think of yourself as a charity case. You are worth it. You are someone.

6) Never hang your heart where it cannot reach. Let what you have work for you and be proud of it!

And after waiting for ease (as through hardship cometh ease), it finally arrives. That doesn’t mean that the struggle is done. It is never over, it will show up again. But the difference is now you know how to handle it.

Never forget your roots, where you are coming from and how it shaped you into the person you are today.

Be grateful for your struggle and never turn your back on the wishes you had for better.

Better is coming.

Never give up!

“Remember cryin' sayin' that will never be me Gonna make it someday gonna be somebody Say mommy dont worry cause its just u and me One day we will get out of this misery”

-Baby Cham & Alicia Keys

bottom of page