top of page

DADDY ISSUES


Every little girl wants to be daddy's little girl and when I was growing up that is all that had mattered in this world to me. My daddy meant the world to me and I was his little girl. I believed in all his promises and shared in all his dreams. We would stop on the way home from school to look at new apartments that he was going to buy and we would live in together as one happy family. We would look at cars in car marts and take them for a stroll with a promise that said we would once own them. We would window shop at Lees Fifth Avenue in all colours of cotton and denim. And when, just when the dreams had failed, he made it up with Kentucky Fry Chicken, he knew the leg was the way to my heart.

And when the promises started to look even more doubtful nothing brought me more joy than a cupcake from Sugar and Spice, with pink icing of course.

We would watch the Suite Life of Zack and Cody together and I would never miss an episode of 106 & Park. I knew every song, every song by Ashanti, so much so that I even thought one day that I was gonna meet her. I mean that was my daddy's promise.

A little girl could only aspire so much and no more.

Fast forward, and it is another year of Father's Day and I am always amused. Observation is one of my favorite hobbies. I know, one could say that is a bit creepy, but I think it's important to see most things around you. And as I watched my feeds load out this time of year I rarely saw daddy pictures like how I saw mommy pictures on her day. Deep down in my heart for some reason I wanted to post too,

I mean I did post for her, so why not for him. A hashtag happy father’s day would rekindle my candle of daddy’s little girl. But even if I truly wanted to, I had no images, no pictures, no real memories.

I had a father, but no daddy, no captions, and I did not want no fake likes.

They should call it Daddy’s Day, not Father’s Day.

See we all have fathers, because we all needed sperm to create us, so why celebrate that, why build a day around sperm collection?

Where are the daddies?

It’s a very funny type of science that the main gender that is enthused about sex are males, but then main gender missing from the consequences of sex are males.

So they want sex, but not what sex creates.

How could that be?

The men that we meet become fathers but not dads.

Does this affect us, does this affect the creation, does this affect daddy’s little girl?

Psychologists state that it should, I agree more than likely it will, but the end result of everything is how you choose to deal with it.

They call it the ‘Father Complex’….

People always seem to think the presence of the male figure in the home affects the son more than the daughter, well I am here to tell you it’s faux. They are claiming girls need their fathers and boys need their mothers.

Not saying both parents arent needed, however a more negative impact is left where the opposite sex parent is concerned.

Men of the New Generation Need To Step Up!

Fathers are supposed to be protectors, providers, our first loves, role models, the one who shows us what a man should be like.

So when there isn't that role model there, then what happens?

Who protects us?

Do we find another man or do we protect ourselves?

Who provides for us?

Do we find another shoulder to lean on or do we become independent?

Who shows us what a man should be like?

Do we rely on imagination or do we parallel him to the sorry persona of no daddy?

No Daddy!

See a girl can have her father her entire life but have no daddy, hence being in the same condition or worse as a person that didn't know their father.

……..And then they say she has daddy issues.

Society tells her she will have daddy issues, society is scared of what will become of her, society thinks she will crave for a daddy, find someone in place of a daddy, society tells her she has daddy issues.

But does she?

Does she really?

Does she have to?

I want you to look society in the face and say hell no!!

I mean if society tells me one more thing about myself....

See that is always the case, always the issue.

Are daddy issues even a real thing?

So men wont step up to their role and because of that I should find myself in the arms of another man who is bound to do the same.

How does that make any sense?

I have no daddy, but I am no less of a female.

I want you to tell yourself, I have no daddy but I am no less of a female, no less of a woman, no less of a man, no less of a person.

See you determine your life and role that a person will play in it. You determine yourself. You determine your own situations.

So is a daddy an issue?

bottom of page