top of page

Ready or Not

“Ready or not, here I come, you can't hide

Gonna find you and take it slowly

Ready or not, here I come, you can't hide

Gonna find you and make you want me”

- Lauren Hill

Are you ready?

Ready for a new chapter?

For a new beginning?

A new semester?

A new year?

A new breath of fresh air?

Are you ready?

Hiding?

Hiding why?

Cause your scared?

Scared if you’re gonna make it?

Scared to take on this newness?

This new breath of fresh air?

Hiding?

Why not take it slowly?

Cause you feel going slow isn’t fast enough?

Going slow is non-progressive?

Going slow wont let you keep up with them?

Going slow wont let you grasp on first to this new breath of fresh air?

Why not take it slowly?

Should I make you want me?

Should I make them want me?

Want me?

Want my brand?

Want to need me?

Want to not be able to survive without me?

Want me because I serve a purpose to them?

Want me because I bring a breath of fresh air?

Should I make you/them want me?

Ready or not.

I feel something new, a breath of fresh air arising with a calm that makes me feel like I can take on the world.

Am I ready?

Are you ready?

Goals are at hand and I do intend to achieve them. The fact is I will always achieve them. But how?

How am I ready?

How are you ready?

“Lest I must confess, my destiny's manifest” – Lauren Hill

I have learnt from the greatest people of all time (well to me of course, because we will all have different people we look up to for different reasons), the people I look up to, my secret role models, a few stuff that I have started to emulate in my life.

  • Firstly I believe in destiny. As Buju Banton said,“destiny… look from when you calling”. I believe my destiny is calling me and I am ready, always ready and willing to answer to my destiny. My destiny is a real thing, I crave it daily. Your destiny is a real thing, you must crave it daily, you must take charge of it, and you must go after it, run it down like your life depends on it.

“I wanna rule my destiny yeah, yeah oh help I please Jah Jah mek mi rule my destiny”

-Buju Banton

  • Next thing is this statement I think most people grew up hearing, if your mind can conceive it, then hunny, sweetie pie, you can achieve it. People think this is joke thing. Well I am here to tell you just try, try it man, I daring you, try it!

This is something I fear using sometimes, but only because when I do use it, I most definitely accomplish what I set out to do. I feel like I’m wonder woman or some super hero in those comic books.

The mind is a powerful thing, my mind is a powerful thing, your mind is a powerful thing. Be determined to use it, set out your goals and make them happen.

  • Then someone I am completely in love with said to “make it count”. ......Helloooo!!!

Mediocrity will not work, no way, no how.

You cannot set unreasonable goals for yourself. You have to make things logical, and make things so logical that when you accomplish it, you will accomplish it, you will make it count.

And I’m not saying it must be this simple, I am saying to make it count. Do it little by little. That way at the end of it all it is fully don’t, not half done, not I started it but didn’t finish it.

It is done!

The most powerful people never pull off their whole to do list in one day, but they ensure the one or two important things get done.

  • “You are responsible for your life….accept it, forgive the past, take responsibility.” – Oprah

Not much to say here really, it’s spelt out for you on the page. It’s all about taking control. Life never just passes you by, you have to be living life in such a responsible way to see the opportunities or as I like to put it, to see the breath of fresh air and take it in.

  • Lastly, for now at least, PLAN, PLAN, PLAN!

There a lot a things to say about a man without a plan, and might I just add typing in that statement to google brings up a lot of unpleasant things.

So why would you want to be plan-less?

I understand the spontaneity can be ‘beautifully dangerous’ and surprises may just give you an adrenaline rush.

However, schedule life, make some routines, give living some structure, some meaning, a reason to wake up in the morning.

No it may not go as planned every single day, but at least there would be no days where you are completely lost in the world or unsure what to do with time.

These pointers for sure I am applying to this new semester of classes, this new semester of life, this new breath of fresh air.

I am ready;

Are you?

“Where I rest, no stress”

All the best.

bottom of page